Visual Wednesday: How to “Art History” as a verb.

im-so-adjective-i-verb-nouns

Source: Toothpastefordinner

A few months ago I was reflecting on the value of studying art history despite the reality that the market for art history job positions are so saturated and often require an incredible amount of education beyond my meager bachelor’s degree. Was it worth it? Absolutely.

Here’s why I believe it has been an invaluable experience.

To me, the biggest gain has been learning how to “art history” images. This skill applies to other life skills too.

By using art history as a verb I am referring to the ability to do. To accurately speak, write, and/or discuss art both plainly and academically. A dedication to inform one’s self on the subject of art and realize there is still more to learn. To “art history” one practices precision, utilizes vocabulary to analyze art alone or in contrast to other art. One considers the context on a micro and macro level, shares thoughts and questions, all while remaining open to the input of peers and mentors.

The sort of determination, commitment, and learnability required to essentially master a certain subject is my point. It fosters an attitude that says, “I did it once so it is do-able again with anything.” This is the value in earning a degree in Art History, to me. If I am able to “art history” Art History, I can certainly do so with anything else.

Don’t simply take my word for it. Here is a video example of the sort of language abilities, knowledge, and skills of analysis you can expect in an Art History setting.

Do you “art history”?

If you would like more tips on how to: “art history”. Please comment with specific questions below.

Leave a Reply

